Racial Justice Values Statement

Diversity, inclusion, and equity are core values for Mid-Minnesota Legal Aid, and it is critical that we incorporate these values into all aspects of our work. We recognize the particular and highly detrimental impact of racism — and Minnesota’s racial disparities — on MMLA’s clients and staff. We will therefore devote special attention to issues of racial justice. We commit to:

Ensuring our work is rooted in communities which we serve.

Strengthening our organizational capacity through increased racial diversity, inclusion, and equity.

Developing and applying a racial equity lens to our work with clients.

Advancing the cause of racial justice in our client representation and policy advocacy work.

MMLA Board

Our all-volunteer Board is diverse group of actively engaged leaders from the public, private, and nonprofit sectors.

Board Officers

  • Rachhana T. Srey

    President — Nichols Kaster, PLLP
  • Karen M. Charlson

    1st Vice President — Littler Mendelson, P.C.
  • Trisha Hendrickson

    2nd VicePresident — Rinke Noonan Attorneys at Law
  • David E. March

    Secretary — Target Corporation
  • Edric R. Knight

    Treasurer — Knightofday Enterprises
  • Sara McGrane

    Past President — Felhaber Larson

Board of Directors

  • Michael F. Cockson

    Faegre Drinker Biddle & Reath LLP
  • The Honorable Mel I. Dickstein

    Mel Dickstein ADR
  • Logan J. Drew

    Robins Kaplan LLP
  • Michael Elliott

    Client Representative
  • Michael T. Feichtinger

    Minnesota Lawyers Mutual Insurance Company
  • Bradley W. Hanson

    Quinlivan & Hughes, P.A.
  • Calvin Hoffman

    Stinson LLP
  • Lousene M. Hoppe

    Fredrikson & Byron, P.A.
  • Hudda Ibrahim

    Filsan Consultant LLC
  • Elizabeth Jensen

    Community Representative
  • Chris D. Jozwiak

    Baillon Thome Jozwiak & Wanta LLP
  • Julie Kisner

    Client Representative
  • Thomas G. Kramer

    Kramer Law Office
  • Maureen Kucera-Walsh

    Community Representative
  • Dorraine A. Larison

    Lathrop GPM
  • Mary Frances Price

    Long, Reher & Hanson, P.A.
  • Joshua Prine

    Client Representative
  • Jaime Stilson

    Dorsey & Whitney LLP
  • Bernadette Suiter

    Client Representative

The Fund Board

The Fund’s all-volunteer Board is comprised of attorneys who are active leaders in their legal and general communities.

Board Officers

  • Peter H. Walsh

    Chair — Hogan Lovells US LLP
  • Anne M. Lockner

    Vice Chair and Leaders in Giving Chair — Robins Kaplan LLP
  • Jodie Hagstrom Crist

    Treasurer — Best Buy Company Inc.
  • Melinda Hugdahl

    Fund Director and Secretary — Mid-Minnesota Legal Aid
  • Ashleigh M. Leitch

    Associates' Lead Co-Chair — Best & Flanagan LLP
  • Kelsey J. McElveen

    Associates' Lead Co-Chair — Robins Kaplan LLP

Board of Directors

  • Joseph W. Anthony

    Anthony Ostlund Baer & Louwagie P.A.
  • Jeffrey J. Bouslog

    Fox Rothschild LLP
  • Andrew M. Carlson

    Taft Stettinius & Hollister LLP
  • Karen M. Charlson

    Littler Mendelson P.C.
  • James L. Chosy

    U.S. Bank
  • Amy S. Conners

    Best & Flanagan LLP
  • Joseph T. Dixon III

    Fredrikson & Byron, P.A.
  • Jeff H. Eckland

    Eckland & Blando
  • Samantha J. Ellingson

    Thom Ellingson, PLLP
  • Douglas L. Elsass

    Nilan Johnson Lewis PA
  • Brian Felton

    Medtronic, Inc.
  • Susan Flint

    Wells Fargo & Company
  • John W. Geelan

    Piper Sandler Companies
  • Brian Grogan

    Moss & Barnett, A Professional Association
  • Richard M. Hagstrom

    Hellmuth & Johnson PLLC
  • Trisha Hendrickson

    Rinke Noonan Attorneys at Law
  • June P. Hoidal

    Zimmerman Reed LLP
  • Edric R. Knight

    Knightofday Enterprises
  • Mary L. Knoblauch

    Maslon LLP
  • Julie R. Landy

    Faegre Drinker Biddle & Reath LLP
  • Samuel T. Lockner

    Carlson Caspers Vandenburgh & Lindquist, P.A.
  • Andrew M. Luger

    Jones Day
  • David E. March

    Target Corporation
  • Timothy C. Matson

    Fox Rothschild LLP
  • Sara McGrane

    Felhaber Larson
  • Christine L. Meuers

  • Keith S. Moheban

    Stinson LLP
  • John B. Orenstein

    Greene Espel PLLP
  • Thomas R. Pfeifer

    Thomson Reuters, Legal
  • Patrick J. Rooney

    Fafinski Mark & Johnson, P.A.
  • Drew P. Schaffer

    Mid-Minnesota Legal Aid
  • Elizabeth H. Schmiesing

    Winthrop & Weinstine, P.A.
  • Steven A. Schumeister

    Robins Kaplan LLP
  • Peter Shakow

    UnitedHealth Group
  • Matthew M. Shors

    UnitedHealth Group
  • Rachhana T. Srey

    Nichols Kaster, PLLP
  • Michael P. Sullivan, Jr.

    Lathrop GPM
  • Mavis J. Van Sambeek

    Ballard Spahr LLP
  • Steven J. Wells

    Dorsey & Whitney LLP
  • Warren D. Woessner

    Schwegman Lundberg Woessner
  • Julian C. Zebot

    Maslon LLP
  • Rachel Zimmerman Scobie

    Merchant & Gould P.C.

Emeritus Board

  • Laura Cooper

  • John Gordon

  • James T. Hale

  • Robert J. Hennessey

  • Richard G. Lareau

  • Dale I. Larson

  • Nancy G. Malmon

  • Seymour Mansfield

  • Richard G. Mark

  • Jerry Rotman

  • Allen Saeks

  • Roger V. Stageberg

  • Thomas W. Tinkham


Mid-Minnesota Legal Aid’s staff is dedicated to protecting rights and improving lives.

Executive Director

Andrew Schaffer

Executive Director

Donations, Fundraising & Development

Melinda Hugdahl

Development Director

All Other Concerns

Lisa Cohen

Deputy Director Operations

Minneapolis Office

Staff Directory

Gregory Marita

Deputy Director

St. Cloud & Willmar Offices

Staff Directory

Ann Cofell

Deputy Director

MN Disability Law Center

Staff Directory

Daniel Stewart

MDLC Legal Director

Legal Services Advocacy Project

Staff Directory

Ron Elwood

Supervising Attorney